Create Your Own Natural Heart Bypass

lifedoesntendafterabypass-300x222

This information blew me away!  Just the possibility that something like this can happen got my imagination going.  I made up my mind then and there that I was going to grow one to bypass the stent that couldn’t be opened.

Before having a heart attack, I had never heard of the heart’s little collateral arteries. In fact I only learned about them after having a stress test, after the second heart attack.  I was frustrated with the idea that doctors wanted to go back into my heart because I was having chest pain.  I started researching and stumbled upon the first of many articles about natural bypass.

Collateral arteries are small, normally closed arteries that, in times of dire need, such as a blocked coronary artery that leads to a heart attack, can wake up, open wide, and enlarge enough to form a kind of detour around the blockage, thus providing an alternate route of blood supply to feed the oxygen-starved heart muscle. Do-it-yourself bypass surgery!

When cholesterol-clogged plaque narrows an artery that feeds the heart, the body responds by trying to bulk up tiny blood vessels in the heart. As these so-called collateral vessels grow more muscular and interconnected, they begin to reroute some of the blood flow around the blockage. Scientists have been trying for years to nudge collateral blood vessels to develop and prosper, but without great success. However, you can do it at home without anything more high-tech than a comfortable pair of shoes, reports the Harvard Heart Letter in its January 2008 issue.

Growing new collateral blood vessels can ease chest pain (angina), limit heart attack damage, improve survival rate. Exercise dramatically increases blood flow through the coronary arteries. The inner lining of the arteries responds to this “stress” much as it does to the stress of atherosclerosis, by stimulating collateral blood vessels to elongate, widen, and form new connections.

My research said that a little bit of exercise wouldn’t do the trick. I read that you need to push your heart. If you aren’t used to exercising, that may mean brisk walking. Any activity that gets your heart beating faster will do as long as you keep it up for 20 to 30 minutes at a time and do it several times a week It is a great way to prevent Heart disease, Hypertension, High cholesterol, Diabetes, and Migraines, and studies show that it can help some people with narrowed coronary arteries safely avoid bypass surgery or angioplasties.

In response to endurance exercise training, such as running, bicycling, swimming and hiking, blood flow is increased.  This leads to a conversion from capillaries into collaterals.  This is treatment that anyone can accomplish.  It reduces the chances of the occurrence of angina pectoris, myocardial infarctions, and death.

Beyond the interventional, surgical and medical treatments against coronary artery disease, which can have serious side effects, collateral training is a natural and valuable therapy that many patients can apply themselves once they are aware of the possibility.

When you do aerobic exercise the blood flow is increases and the inner layer of vessel cells (endothelial cells) sense this necessity and start the process of forming new arteries called “collateral vessels”. In response to endurance exercise training blood flow is increased, which leads to formation of collaterals. Small bypass vessels which act as a ‘back-up system’ for the heart’s main arteries play a significant role in reducing the mortality of patients with coronary artery disease, according to new research.

There is an actual therapeutic process that they can do that uses compression on your legs and this pressure is supposed to make your heart work harder. It is called EECP which stands for enhanced external counterpulsation.

This safe, noninvasive therapy is often called a “natural bypass” because as it dramatically boosts circulation and increases blood flow throughout the body, EECP also stimulates collateral blood flow. Collateral arteries are small blood vessels that, in the presence of insufficient blood supply, open, enlarge, and create a detour or alternative pathway for blood to flow around blockages in major arteries. Collaterals are truly nature’s coronary artery bypass, and EECP helps open them up. Over time it can force your heart to create a natural by pass.  It takes six weeks and you have to go in for treatment every day.  That was way too much work as far as I was concerned.

After reading the research I had a follow-up visit with my primary care physician.  I wanted to see what she had to say about this idea and even though I thought she might think I was crazy I asked the question.  She reached over and grabbed my treatment plan and started drawing a picture for me about how natural bypass can happen.  I was stunned that she knew and that she was telling me about it!

The following day I saw my chiropractor and was talking to her about the chest pain, stress test and the small blocked artery I had that couldn’t be opened when I was in Austria.  The first thing she said was “you don’t have to worry about that you are going to grow new arteries to compensate.”  This was without any prompting from me or talk about the research I had found.

I brought this subject up to my Naturopathic Doctor in a phone call and she agreed that it was very possible and said that information usually doesn’t trickle down to physicians.  I learned later on that 4 people I knew had experienced this happening to them.

I think that if doctors and the medical profession can be patient with our healing and not jump immediately to stents or bypasses there is a huge possibility that our hearts can and will create natural bypasses.

All I needed was the collaboration with my doctors that it was possible to grow a natural bypass and I made up my mind to do it!  I even announced on Facebook that I was going to. There wasn’t any evidence that I had a collateral artery forming when I was in Austria in August.  It was in November that I decided if it was possible, I would make it happen. I didn’t give it much thought after that.

When I went in for the intake interview for Cardio Rehab after the third heart attack in January 2017 the rehab therapist was talking to me about my stents.  He pulled out a report that had a drawing on it of my arteries and where the stents were placed.  He looked at it and said “Oh, I see you have a collateral artery.”  I said “What, I grew one!  I wanted to do that!!!”  I was jumping for joy inside.  He looked at me and said no one had ever said they wanted to grow a new artery in his office before.  I said “That is because they don’t know that they can!”

I did it! I grew a natural bypass.  How awesome is that?

Here is my before and after.  There was no evidence when I had the heart attack in Austria that this was even starting to happen.

collateral-artery-comparison2

There is a lot of articles written about this on line and I encourage you to do research for yourself.  You will also find several other interventions beyond exercise that can assist the body in creating natural bypasses.

UPDATE

I just finished my new book Resilient Heart: a field guide to a happy healthy heart

Visit my indigogo campaign for details 

Leave a Reply

