My Very Own Guardian Angel

image

This is a story not only about my guardian angel but also how communication unfolds between strangers who don’t speak the same language.

I have a strong connection to Archangel Michael and Gabriel.  The connection with each of them is uniquely different.

I feel that the energy of Gabriel is feminine so I will call her she.  Her name means “Gods strength” or “God has shown himself.  She reminds us that joy is our natural state.  She is the Archangel of harmony, beauty, purification, art, communication, strength and new beginnings.
Archangel Gabriel cleanses and raises your vibrational rate, helps you to open your heart and re-connects you with your soul purpose; your reason for being. Archangel Gabriel guides you towards the next steps in your life and reveals your life purpose and soul mission on Earth.

Upon that back story I will tell this tale which is part of my second heart attack story which took place in Austria.

After completing the angio-plasti procedure I was admitted to my room. After traveling in the elevator we came to a long narrow hallway and My bed was wheeled beside another bed in the hall. The two beds fit snugly in the hall. I transferred myself on to the new bed and the first bed was removed as the nursing staff wheeled me into my new room.

I was told I couldn’t move my leg for 2 hours because the procedure I had took place in my leg and they didn’t want me to cause bleeding.

I looked over and saw that I had a roommate. There was no divider or curtain between us so we could see each other.  Apparently this hospital doesn’t use them.

About 10 Minutes later another bed was wheeled in and put it between us. This bed contained a little white-haired lady who looked to be about 90. So there were three of us. She said something in German to the other lady and it seemed like they knew each other.  I later learned that they both had come the day before me and they knew the lay of the land.

My friend Kate was there with me and we were talking. My white-haired “friend” got out of bed, grabbed her walker and went over and turned off the lights. It was 3 in the afternoon. Now Kate and I were sitting in the dark. My first thought was, “great I am in a room with someone who has dementia!”

That was how my hospital stay began…

More about my white-haired lady. She works on cross word puzzles and plays video games on her phone to keep busy.  She is in charged of the one TV in the room. I don’t care because it is all in German so I can’t understand it. Her sweet husband comes every day to visit her. I sense that she likes me and is worried about me.

There was little attention paid to me by my roommates the first day and I felt very much alone because most of the staff didn’t speak English.  I stared at the clock a lot.

The second day I was lying in bed with my bare feet hanging over the end rail.  The white-haired lady stopped on her way to the bathroom and wiggled my bare toes and smiled.  It felt like something a grandmother would do to her grand-daughter.  Communication begins.

An epic failure in communication and embarrassing moment opened the communication door a little bit more.

I had to go to the bathroom ASAP and the white-haired woman was taking a shower.  The shower was inside of the bathroom so if someone was showering no one could go to the bathroom.  I remembered seeing a public bathroom down the hall and I was going to go use it.  I ran into a nurse on my way out of the door and told her I had to use the bathroom.  She told me I had to wait until the other person was done in the bathroom and then I could use it.  I couldn’t wait!!   I stood by the bathroom door for a couple of minutes and couldn’t wait any longer.  I went to the door at the same time as the nurse was going by.  I told her I needed to use the bathroom and I was trying to get to the public bathroom.  By now it was too late and I had diarrhea running down my leg and on to the floor. I said “Oh Shit!” and I wasn’t kidding! Now she understood what I was talking about.  She thought I wanted to take a shower.  She grabbed the bathroom door, through the white-haired lady out and pushed me in.

I took a shower to clean myself up and when I came out with wet hair the nurse was trying to ask me if I wanted a hair dryer by running her hand against her hair making a broom noise.  I said “Hair dryer” and everyone in the room repeated the English word.  That is how communication started to build.

The next time the white-haired lady had to use the bathroom she ran past my bed saying “schnell” which meant quick.  Oh no, now the poor old lady had bathroom PTSD!!  I told her not to worry but it was in English so I don’t know if she understood.

The next morning my white-haired friend came over to my bed with a piece of Apple Strudel that her husband had smuggled in the night before.  She gave it to me and smiled.

After that she tried to talk with me and teach me German words when we were watching TV. She also told me in a few words and pointing with her hands that she lived about 5 kilometers from the hospital.

On the day we were all getting discharged she was standing by her bed and she said “Stent”.  I realized she was asking me if I had a stent.  I brought my journal out, drew a picture of a heart on my page, with the stent and the word Sperren which meant blocked.  She showed me where they had put a pacemaker in.  I wanted to cry with happiness because we had broken the communication barrier.

I walked over to her bed and looked and pointed to myself and said “Katelyn” and put out my hand.  She reached out her hand and said “Gabriella”  We looked into each others eyes and smiled. Gabriel, really?

As she left to go home she was in a wheel chair.  I walked over and  took her hand and said good bye and God bless you. She said something in German back to me and her eyes sparkled as they wheeled her out of the room.

My guardian angel, Gabriel, had been with me through out my hospital stay and I didn’t even know it but somehow I felt comfort in having the white-haired lady in my room. She came in right after I got there and when I was leaving, she left right before me.  Interesting timing.

Even in the darkest of times we are not really alone.

image

 

 

Leave a Reply

