My Statin Nightmare

'The_Nightmare',_by_M.Z.D._Schmid_Wellcome_L0003603.jpg

As I type this the first finger on my right hand is so swelled up and painful that I can hardly use it to type but I am compelled to share my story despite the pain.

First of all, I am a health and wellness expert and wrote an award winning book about alternative health.  I know about healing and I know about using food as medicine, yet I still got caught in the pharmaceutical trap.

My Story

On March 20th of 2016 I have a stress-induced cardiomyopathy, which looks like a heart attack but really isn’t. It doesn’t mean my life was stressful. I had a fire in my basement, I ran up the stairs 90 miles an hour and had the Cardiomyopathy when I reach the top of the stairs. It is caused by a single stressful incident. There is not a lot of research but it is the kind of heart issue that you can completely recover from.

I was taken to the hospital by ambulance and what happened in the next 2 days while I was vulnerable was actually a whirlwind of neglect.  There is little information about Stress-induced cardiomyopathy so the medical field doesn’t really know how to treat it so they fall on the heart attack protocol as backup.

I didn’t find out what my diagnosis was until the day I was discharged so until then I thought I had suffered a heart attack.  When it is your first time with something like this you really don’t even know what questions to ask when they start handing you medication that they say “If you don’t take this you will have another heart attack.”  Things happened so fast and I felt so bad that I didn’t have time to do my research from my hospital bed.

When I found out I was on Statins, I didn’t know much about them because they hadn’t come on to my radar but I knew intuitively I didn’t want to take them and asked the cardiologist several times when I could be off of them.  I was told “you will will have to be on them for life.”  Ah no, that will never happen!!

I didn’t think I could just stop so it was my intention to find out how to get off of them as fast as I could.  Within three weeks I ended up with symptoms of toxicity.

I started researching statins immediately out of the hospital and was told by several people that they were poison. A chiropractor friend told me that there are certain genotypes who can’t tolerate Statins and it takes a simple blood test to find out if you are one of them.  Doctors don’t perform this test!

Every medical doctor I talked to told me it was a good drug for preventing heart attacks even when I protested.  Oh by the way, it is used to lower cholesterol and I my cholesterol is normal!

First, both of my hands clenched up and were so painful I ended up in the Emergency Room.  Of course the doctors were befuddled and I insisted they take me off the statins because I was sure that was the problem.  For the next three days I was in severe pain and could not use my hands.

The day after my ER visit I had a follow up with my Primary doctor and by then both of my hands were swelled up, red and on fire and looked like clubs.  I was diagnosed with cellulitis.  I had to go on antibiotics to get that to recede.

One morning I woke up and there was so much pain in my hip I could hardly walk.  It went from there to my foot, which also swelled up and was painful.

Finally every joint and muscle in my body was in pain. Today I have been off of Statins for 9 days and I am still feeling the results of what is left in my body.  Including severe itching in my palms, cellulitis in my right index finger and arthritis type pain in two fingers on my left hand. From what I read it takes 2-3 weeks to be clear of it.

Update: It ended up taking 3 weeks for the statins to clear out of my body and the pain migrated throughout my body as it was leaving.  Cellulitis returned to my hands three times before it was gone.

 

Exaggeration and Deception

For example, in one highly quoted study 3 percent of those on placebo had a heart attack compared to 2 percent of those taking Lipitor. In other words, out of 100 people taking atorvastatin, one would benefit. That probably doesn’t seem very impressive to you. After all, if 99 people taking Lipitor get no noticeable benefit so that 1 person can avoid a heart attack, the results just don’t sound exciting.

But wait, there is a way to manipulate the data to make the drug seem more appealing. Because the difference between 3 percent and 2 percent is only 1 percent, the manufacturer promoted the drug as reducing the risk of heart attack by 36 percent. That sounds much more appealing to prescribers and patients, even though only 1 person out of 100 actually benefits. In statistical terms, drug companies use relative risk reduction rather than absolute risk reduction to make it seem as if their medications are far more effective than they really are.

RESEARCH

1-Statins and Genotype intolerence Medical research paper

2-Statins and Muscle pain:

60% of people stopping statins did so because of muscle pain.

http://www.peoplespharmacy.com/2014/01/20/could-my-medicine-be-causing-excruciating-leg-cramps/

Other studies:

Dr. Northrup who I trust says she wouldn’t take statins herself!  Here is her article

This one by a Doctor is great too and she adds a lot of other research to her article  http://kellybroganmd.com/cracking-cholesterol-myth-statins-harm-body-mind/

Run from Statins http://drsircus.com/medicine/run-from-your-statin-recommending-cardiologist/

http://articles.mercola.com/sites/articles/archive/2015/03/18/deception-statins-effectiveness.aspx

http://www.greenmedinfo.com/blog/consumer-alert-300-health-problems-linked-statin-drugs

Dr. Axe report :

http://draxe.com/dangers-of-statins-why-your-body-needs-cholesterol/

Dr. Diamond on Statins  This is a Doctor who studied the side effects of Statins for his own health

Wellness Mama report

http://wellnessmama.com/1853/roots-of-heart-disease/

http://wellnessmama.com/91827/cholesterol-benefits/

REDUCING CHOLESTEROL NATURALLY.

I asked the cardiologist if there was a way to clean the plaque out of arteries naturally and she said no.  I went home and did my research and found that wasn’t true.  When I saw her again I said ” When I asked you about using food to clear out plaque you told me no but my research says you can.”  She replied, yes there are food that can do that but we can see the results unless we go back in so there isn’t any proof.

Here are several links to food that will support lowering cholesterol, there area a lot more out there.

http://www.doctoroz.com/slideshow/top-10-foods-lower-cholesterol

http://www.prevention.com/health/health-concerns/how-lower-cholesterol-naturally

http://www.everydayhealth.com/hs/high-cholesterol-pictures/power-foods-for-lower-cholesterol/

Testing for Statin Intolerance https://www.statinsmart.com/


Please, please, please do your homework before you ever agree to take statin drugs. It has been a nightmare for me as this toxin moves through my body. And very painful and exhausting. It debilitated both my hands for three days, went into my leg and now my right foot so I can hardly walk. Joint pain everywhere. From what I have read it take about 2-3 weeks to clear out of your body.

There are specific genotypes who are intolerant of statins and a simple blood test would have saved me from all of this pain. Doctors don’t do the test and think everyone alive should be on the drug. I am posting this so none of my friends have to experience this! The heart attack was a piece of cake compared to what I have experienced for over a week. It’s comforting to know it will be over soon.

6 thoughts on “My Statin Nightmare

Leave a Reply

