Horse: A Symbol of Inner Strength.

 

20160120_091629

“Horse spirit animals are likely to represent your inner strength and driving force in life. A typical symbolism for the horse is one of an animal representing physical strength, vitality, but also our psychological or emotional ability to go on in life.

Depending on what this spirit animal means to you, it could symbolize your ability to overcome obstacles in life and pursue your goal no matter what may stand on your way.”

The horse in the photo was hand carved in Chili.  The story surrounding it coming to me is very interesting.

I was in Chile working with my friend, LuzClara, who is a medicine woman. I had taken a group of 9 women to work with LuzClara in the Andes Mountains.   We had been up in the mountains camping out for a few days when we decided to take a 20 mile day trip higher into the mountains to a sacred cave.

My horse and I were about middle of the line of horses slowly climbing up the mountain.  I have to admit that my fear of heights was engaged because out path was about a foot wide and the drop to the right of us was several thousand feet.  These horses had walked this path many times and knew what they were doing, but it was still nerve wracking.

About an hour into the ride something extremely frightening happened to me.  Out of no where my horse stood up on it’s back legs, not once but 3 times and on the final time it turned around so I was facing the women on horses behind me.  Remember we are on a very narrow path and I could fall thousands of feet to my death.

Something happened to me that was very amazing.  The moment the horse stood up something came over me, all of my fear dissolved and I was in my peaceful center. This was divine intervention for if I had gone into fear and the horse had sensed it we would have felt of the mountainside together and died.

I believe this happened to me for several reasons.  First it showed the women in my group that anything could happen and we were still safe because our guides came up along side me very quickly and calmed my horse.  The second reason was this was an initiation for me to show me my inner strength and power and how strong I really was.

Remember, even in fear we can find our center and over come challenge.

On the day we were leaving for the airport to come home we stopped to shop in the market. In one of the last shops we came upon I could see this carved horse in the window.  I had to buy it no matter what the cost because it was an exact replica of the horse I was riding in the mountains that day.

It is my symbol of inner strength and freedom!

Leave a Reply

